Pumpkin Coffee Cake

One of my favorite things is relaxing with a nice cup of coffee. I probably drink more than I should sometimes but it makes me happy so I’m going to keep drinking the delicious-ness!

So I whipped up this little recipe and gave it a “cinnamon swirl” topping to go along with my morning/afternoon or evening coffee. 🙂 Enjoy!

Ingredients (Cake):

  • 1 1/4 cups oat flour
  • 1/4 cup Almond Meal
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup unsweetened pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3 egg whites
  • 4 Tablespoons Truvia natural sweetener
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon maple extract
  • 1 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • Ingredients (cinnamon swirl):
  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon honey

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, combine your choice of flour, protein powder, Truvia (or stevia), baking soda, baking powder, and pie spice. Mix until completely combined. Add the rest of the ingredients (wet) to the mixture and mix until smooth. Lightly spray an 8X8 or 9X9 inch baking dish. Pour in batter and smooth the top with the back of a spatula.

In a very small side dish combine room temperature coconut oil, cinnamon and honey.Wisk until completely incorporated. Drizzle a couple small spoonfuls of the mixture over the top of the batter (*I only used about half of the “swirl” topping that I made). Use a knife  to create a “swirl” pattern (this reminds me of those delicious, but very fattening cheesecake brownies I used to make from a box when I was little).

Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. Let cool for about 20 minutes and ENJOY your guilt-free coffee cake!

Leave a comment